Macrina Bakery (Sodo)

Hi All! 

Sorry for the long gap in my posts, hopefully I can be better in 2016. This post is about Macrina Bakery. Check out their about page, they have a cool background on getting started.

Located on 1st avenue near the Starbuck headquarters, I had driven past this place many times and finally decided to stop for brunch when my parents were in town from Michigan. It was a Saturday morning around 10:30am.

There are 2 entrances when you walk in and it can be confusing on where to order. We were there when it was bit busy and it was pretty tight. Seating is on a first come, first serve basis. Luckily, we were able to snag a table for the 4 of us (Ryan included).

I ordered the Market Special, which can change often. Mine was “Omelet of roasted cauliflower, butternut squash, Brussels sprouts and fontina garnished with roasted tomato-caper purée. Served with herb-roasted potatoes, fresh fruit and Fresh Herb toast.” Please note this description is from http://macrinabakery.com/brunch-menu.php . This is also where you can see all of their offerings. The omelet was delicious. I like ordering things I could never make at home and this was one of those items. If you love veggies, you will like this choose.

My dad ordered the Housemade Granola Parfait. I had a taste and was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and additives offered for the yogurt. If you are looking for a smaller meal this would be a good choice.

If you are looking for larger meal I would recommend the French Toast. Just take a look at the picture posted with this post and you will see why. How it looks, is how it tastes. Thick pieces of French toast, topped with real whipped cream and berries; with a side of sausage. Ryan loved it and so did I, although he did not want to share very much with me.

Overall I would recommend Macrina Bakery. It is a unique bakery local to Seattle, with only one other location in Belltown. The Sodo location can get quite busy, so I would recommend going early or later after the brunch hour. The service time is reasonable given the amount of business and the staff was friendly.  The place can be hard to navigate with ordering and finding a place to sit and it was quite loud in the bakery, but the food makes up for all that. I will be back!

Ratings (1-5):

Overall: 4.5 – Highly recommend it

Atmosphere: 3 (during peak hours) – Hard to navigate ordering and find a place to sit

Food Quality: 5 – I can’t wait to come back and try the breads and sweets

Services: 5 – Very friendly helpful employees

Bikeability: 5 – there is a bike rack right outside the front door

Dog Friendly – Dogs are not allowed inside, but in the summer there is small patio seating right out front.

Leave a Reply

